Goodbye and good luck for 2018


To the COMBINE community,

As the year winds to a close we can start to look back on the accomplishments of the COMBINE community for 2017.

As always, we are indebted to our representatives from around Australia. Several social networking and seminar events were held across Brisbane, Perth, Adelaide and Melbourne. A number of workshops were also held across these branches, ranging from statistics courses to RNA-seq analyses in R. The annual COMBINE Symposium was the highlight of the year, with 55 delegates from around the country coming together at the South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute (SAHMRI) in Adelaide.
Since joining COMBINE in 2015, I feel this community has been invaluable in helping me learn new skills and meet other people in my field. Now at the end of my Presidency, I have had the privilege of witnessing first hand the dedication, commitment and enthusiasm students put into this community.

In particular, I am very grateful to the 2017 COMBINE executive committee for all of their support and efforts this year:

Vice President: Zac Gerring
Treasurer and Symposium Coordinator: Klay Saunders
ABACBS Student Representative: Harriet Dashnow
Media and Communications: Luke Zappia, Shila Ghazanfar, Glen van den Bergen
Training Coordinator: Soroor Hediyeh-Zadeh

As well as (or course!) the Symposium Committee and the local representatives.

As 2018 draws nearer, we can now welcome the new COMBINE committee:

President: Luke Zappia
Vice President: Helen Dockrell
Treasurer: Klay Saunders
ABACBS student rep: Leah Roberts
Media and communications: Ning Liu, Melinda Ashcroft, Nhi Hin
Training coordinator: Holly Whitfield
Symposium coordinator: Lucy Liu, Owen Qin

And local representatives:

QLD: Venkateswara Rao Addala, Gabe Foley, Rhys White
WA: Su Chen, Sarah Beecroft
TAS: Andrew Phipps
NSW: Camelia Quek
VIC: Damayanthi Herath

Last (but certainly not least) COMBINE is hugely grateful for the continued support of our parent committee ABACBS and all of our sponsors. Congratulations to all, and all the best for the new year!

Warm Regards,

Leah Roberts
2017 COMBINE President

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s